Back to digging…

14Sep06

Well as you can see from my previous post, I’m back to digging. I’ve decided that it doesn’t matter if a few other people think I’m gaming digg simply because I’m in the top 30. I’m comfortable in the knowledge that I’m not, so they can kiss my arse. Having said that, I have a few ideas to make digg a better place if anyone is listening.

As I’ve stated before, I think that where digg really shines is in the “upcoming stories” section. Prior to digg v. 3, you used to be able to tell digg that you wanted to see so many number of upcoming stories at once. Now you can only see 15 unless you meander over to the cloud view. I’d like to be able to have some control over what and how I arrange the upcoming stories. For instance, I’d like to be able to see 150 upcoming stories, but arrange them with titles only. Or see 150 upcoming stories and arrange them by most dugg (prior to going to the front page). Or see 1000 stories, by title only, without seeing how many diggs each story has, and descending by submission time/date. Make sense? As it is now, the upcoming stories view is useless to me because I don’t see more than 15 stories at a time. The cloud view is okay, but after awhile, all the titles seem to melt into each other and it becomes difficult to follow. As it stands, you can only arrange upcoming stories by, “show newest”, “show oldest”, “show most popular”, “show least popular”, “show most commented”.

In an effort to create longer lasting front page articles, I’d also like to see the same functionality on the front page too. Perhaps these kinds of things are in the works or perhaps not, but if you’re listening digg, help us out!

Peace out…



6 Responses to “Back to digging…”

  1. Coolness.

    I like your ideas. I’ve found the normal upcoming page to be very lacking, and usually turn to digg spy. I just wish they had a web form for sending suggestions. They have one for reporting bugs, but design enhancements aren’t the same thing. I can’t always send email, which is the only other way to contact them.

  2. 2 Jeremiah

    Welcome back🙂

  3. 3 Matt

    Hey,

    A very big fan of your avatar on Digg. Would you mind telling me what you used to create it? Or did you use Photoshop? I noticed a bunch of people using a similar one and thought it was great.

    Good to have you back.

    Matt

  4. Did you notice that Kevin gave you props on the last episode of diggnation?
    🙂

  5. @ flipside3

    I hadn’t noticed but thanks for pointing that out. My submissions have been on diggnation a few times if that’s what you mean by props.

    @ Matt

    Are you talking about the one that I have currently or the one that I had before? Right now, I’m using the “gd” from digg and prior I was using the white plus sign with the green background. That one became too popular, so I stopped using it. I basically found it on the digg website as one of their gifs and just used it as my avatar.

  6. Actually he (Kevin) mentioned you by name… well as gregd… and how good your posts are. Which is pretty cool of him to say. Granted it was during diggnation so he was drunk off his arse.


Leave a Reply

