Internet At The Speed Of Digg…

18Aug06

One thing that I’ve always found interesting with the internet is the speed at which information becomes available. I’ve seen a slow and progressive change to mainstream news outfits like CNN and MSNBC over the past decade (or more) to provide breaking news and to have constantly scrolling ‘tickers’ at the bottom of the screen to keep us up-to-date. I attribute this to the internet and the information age. All this being said, Digg is changing the availability and durability of information even more.

I’ve noticed an increasing trend on Digg and I’m not sure how they can change it, or even if they can change it. That’s the constant moving on to the next story. The Digg homepage will hold 15 top stories. These 15 top stories constantly shift out as new stories get top diggs ad infinitum.. I don’t have exact statistics and I’ve got better things to do than to sit and time the stories, but I’m willing to bet that a story that makes it to the homepage, only stays on the homepage for about 3-4 hours. If that. The trend of moving on also extends to the comments of each story. I would love to see some comment threads go on for days. But that never happens because people have moved on.

An example is this story on Digg that was submitted (at the time that I wrote this) 1 day 22 hours ago. It made it to the front page sometime yesterday and has 300 comments. I asked some legitimate questions regarding macs in the enterprise and got one person to actually answer some of my questions in the comments on Digg. However, another Digger by the name of David actually took the time to answer the rest of my question here on my blog! Don’t get me wrong, I really appreciate the fact that David went out of his way to do this, but it’s interesting that he did it here and not in the comments on Digg.  Is this because David felt as if everyone had moved on?

I’d love to see Digg come up with a solution to make the stories have more staying power.  I know that they have it in them to come up with something progressive with regard to the comments and the ability to talk about submitted articles.



5 Responses to “Internet At The Speed Of Digg…”

  1. 1 Jeremiah

    It’s really hard to get a good conversation going in the Digg comment system. Either you get a whole bunch of people flaming from the get-go or, like you’ve stated, no one stays interested long enough to continue talking about the topic.

  2. you have 666 stories submitted on digg

  3. @the devil

    Not anymore…

  4. 4 Jeremiah

    Hey, if you want to see a good conversation that will never continue on Digg, check this out:

    http://digg.com/general_sciences/Why_doesn_t_America_believe_in_evolution_3

  5. I see you up on the homepage almost every day… How do you do it? Is it just persistance or is the fact that you’ve been there so much leads to more people looking at your profile and digging the things that you digg?

    Do you feel your profile gives you digg-inertia?


Leave a Reply

